PAKISTAN is brimming with pride at the quality of films they are producing. The world will now witness creative arts at its best.

Many familiar names grace the line-up as the local entertainment industry gears up to determine Pakistan's Best Foreign Language Film category entry to the 2024 Oscars.

The newly revealed committee members, led by chairman Mo Naqvi, include renowned names like Fawad Khan, Ahmed Ali Akbar, Bilal Lashari, Saim Sadiq and Fatima Bhutto - who makes a statement hailing the work the entertainment circuit has currently been producing.

After the announcement of the deciding body, Bhutto took to her Instagram Stories to share the good news, all the while hoping for film projects from Pakistan to garner more attention around the world.

She wrote, '' I am really happy to join this year's Oscar committee and I am proud of the quality of films we are producing. I hope the world will see much more work from Pakistan.''

The committee has also recruited multifaceted artist Nadia Afghan, event director, producer, and activist Frieha Altaf, acclaimed filmmaker, journalist and cultural critic Madeeha Syed, and award-winning producer, director, and editor Mehreen Jabbar to select Pakistan's Oscar entry.

LAST YEAR, in 2022, Pakistan's official entry for the Oscar's Best Foreign Language Film category was the critically acclaimed film Joyland, which also won the Cannes Jury Award at the 2022 Cannes Film Festival.

In addition to this, the film garnered significant attention and accolades on other platforms, representing Pakistan's thriving film industry on the global stage.

As the new committee begins its deliberations, expectations are high for their selection for the 2024  Oscars.

The chosen film will carry the hopes and aspirations of Pakistan's film community and movie enthusiasts, aiming to make its mark on the international cinema scene once again.

With the expertise and talent of the committee members, Pakistan's film industry is poised to showcase its best work to the world and compete for the prestigious Academy Award in the Best Foreign Language Film category.

The World Students Society thanks The Express Tribune.


Post a Comment

Grace A Comment!