David Nalbandian disqualified from Queen's final after kick

David Nalbandian was disqualified from the Aegon Championships final after injuring a line judge by kicking an advertising board into his shin.

The Argentine, 30, was leading Marin Cilic 7-6 (7-3) 3-4 but smashed a panel in front of Andrew McDougall's seat, causing his leg to bleed heavily.

Chair umpire Fergus Murphy awarded Cilic the match, while ATP supervisor Tom Barnes confirmed the decision.
"I am very sorry, sometimes you get frustrated on court," said Nalbandian.
With the officials discussing what course of action to take, sections of the 6,000-capacity crowd booed and chanted "play on".

But the match was abandoned and Nalbandian was left to explain his behaviour to Sue Barker on BBC One.
"Sometimes I make a mistake I agree with," he added. "It's a tough moment to end a final like that but sometimes we feel so much pressure from the ATP playing so many tournaments.
"Today I've made a mistake. Sometimes I agree and I do but everyone makes mistakes. I don't feel it had to end like that - especially in a final.


Post a Comment

Grace A Comment!